The Jessie Kesson Fellowship

This annual award was established in 2009 by Moniack Mhor to honour Jessie Kesson’s inspirational life and work. To read more about the Centenary celebrations we had in 2016 click here.



We are delight to announce that the recipient of the 2017 Jessie Kesson Fellowship is Claire Askew.

Pic by Sally Jubb Photography

Pic by Sally Jubb Photography


Claire Askew’s poetry has appeared in numerous publications, including The Guardian, New Writing Scotland,  The Dark Horse and PANK. Claire is the author of This changes things (Bloodaxe, 2016) which was shortlisted for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award and the Saltire First Book Award.  She is also a novelist, and her debut novel-in-progress, Three Rivers, won the 2016 Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize.  Claire was a Scottish Book Trust Reading Champion for 2016, based at Craigmillar Library in Edinburgh.  She holds a PhD in Creative Writing and Contemporary Women’s Poetry from the University of Edinburgh, and can be found online @onenightstanzas on Twitter, or edinburghvintage on Instagram.

Claire said, “I’m absolutely thrilled to be taking up this opportunity in 2017: I’m especially looking forward to running workshops, meeting fellow writers and generally making myself useful in the local community. I feel honoured to be taking up a fellowship that bears Jessie Kesson’s name: she was an inspirational woman as well as a brilliant writer.  I’m hoping that during my time at Moniack Mhor, some of her magic might just rub off on me!”

Comments are closed