Writing Competitions

In addition to our own awards, we also support the writing competitions here by offering a place on a course as a prize. See individual listings below for deadlines and entry requirements.

Tarbert Book Festival Writing Competition

tarbert book festival header cropMoniack Mhor is delighted to support the second Tarbert Book Festival Writing Competition. First prize is a week’s course at Moniack Mhor, to be taken during 2016/2017.

Applications close on the 23rd July 2017. Shortlisted candidates will be notified by 31st August and the winner will be announced at the Prize Giving Ceremony at the Tarbert Book Festival during the weekend of 27th – 29th October.

To find out more please click here.

Caledonia Novel Award

Deadline: 1st November, 2017CNA Trophy Enhanced 2017


The Caledonia Novel Award is an Edinburgh-based, international award for unpublished and self-published novelists. Now in its fourth year, the 2017 award attracted 371 entries from 26 countries, and the winner was US novelist, Cam Terwilliger.

The Caledonia Novel Award 2018 is open to entries in all genres for adults and young adults until 1st November, 2017. The main prize is £1,000 and there is an additional prize for the best novel submitted by an author from the UK and Ireland, which is for a place on a course here at Moniack Mhor in 2018. The judge for this year’s prize is Madeleine Milburn of Madeleine Milburn Literary, TV & Film Agency. For more information and how to apply, click here.








We often include news of other writing competitions in our monthly newsletter. Sign up here.


Comments are closed