Writing Competitions

Tarbert Book Festival Writing Competition

tarbert book festival header cropMoniack Mhor is delighted to support the first Tarbert Book Festival Writing Competition.  The competition is for a short story/researched article/reminiscence piece of up to 500 words maximum on the theme of ‘West Coast Wonders’. First prize is a week’s course at Moniack Mhor, to be taken during 2016/2017.

Applications for this award have now closed. Shortlisted candidates will be notified by 31st August and the winner will be announced at the Prize Giving Ceremony at the Tarbert Book Festival during the weekend of 28th – 30th October 2016.

To find out more please click here.

Caledonia Novel Award

Deadline: 1st November 2016

The Caledonia Novel Award is an Edinburgh-based, international award for unpublished and Caledonian Novel Awardself-published debut novelists. Now in their third year, the 2016 award attracted 250 entries from 18 countries and the winner was US novelist, Andrea Crossley Spencer.

The Caledonia Novel Award 2017 is open to entries in all genres for adults and young adults until 1st November 2016. The main prize is £1,000, and there is an additional prize for the best novel submitted by an author from the UK and Ireland, which is for a place on a course here at Moniack Mhor in 2017. The judge for this year’s prize is Richard Pike of Curtis Brown. For more information and how to apply click here.



We often include news of other writing competitions in our monthly newsletter. Sign up here.


Comments are closed