Courses

Bursaries are available on all courses.

 


  • January Retreat
    Mon 20th Jan - Sat 25th Jan
    All Day
    Fully Booked

    Treat yourself to a week at Moniack Mhor, where you can spend your time working on your writing away from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Just some quality time with you and your writing.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • March Retreat
    Mon 9th Mar - Sat 14th Mar
    All Day
    Fully Booked

    Come to Moniack Mhor for some quality quiet time. Evenings by the fire, good company and country walks will help inspire your writing.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Spring Retreat
    Mon 16th Mar - Sat 21st Mar
    All Day
    Fully Booked

    Now is the time to Spring into action (sorry) as you breathe new life into your manuscript, or work on your play, short story or poem.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Poetry day workshop - Home and Belonging with Marjorie Lotfi Gill
    Sun 5th Apr
    10:00am - 4:00pm


    During this day workshop, Marjorie will examine what home means to each of us – in its broadest sense and on a personal level.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Fiction: Adam Foulds and Alan Warner, Guest: Monica Ali
    Mon 13th Apr - Sat 18th Apr
    All Day


    This course will help you finish that first draft with workshops and tutorials on plot and character, on sharpening your descriptions, writing scenes and creating distinctive, propulsive, persuasive voices.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Songwriting With Boo Hewerdine and Findlay Napier, Guest Emily Barker
    Mon 20th Apr - Sat 25th Apr
    All Day


    Findlay Napier and Boo Hewerdine write songs from observations and real life experience. During this week long course, you too, can learn the power of turning narrative into song.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Poetry With Efe Paul Azino and Jo Bell, Guest Erin May Kelly
    Mon 27th Apr - Sat 2nd May
    All Day


    Through workshops and tutorials your tutors will help you shape, shift and lift your words to enable confidence on and off the page

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • May Retreat
    Mon 4th May - Sat 9th May
    All Day
    Fully Booked

    Treat yourself to some well-earned time alone with your current work in progress, or maybe start the building blocks of your next project in the warmth and comfort of Moniack Mhor. 

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Writing for Young Adults - Melvin Burgess & Patrice Lawrence Guest Tanya Landman
    Mon 11th May - Sat 16th May
    All Day


    Are you passionate about writing fiction with young adult protagonists? This week will give you the motivation you need to develop your knowledge and skills.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Memoir With Colin Grant and Chitra Ramaswamy, Guest Shaun Bythell
    Mon 18th May - Sat 23rd May
    All Day
    Only Twin Rooms Available

    Telling Your Story What’s the heart of your story and how might you find the voice in which to tell it? What techniques can you use to anchor a narrative so it feels true to your lived experience? In this practical and immersive course on the art of writing memoir Chitra Ramaswamy and Colin Grant […]

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Writing the Music Tutored Retreat With Michel Faber & Louisa Young Guest Kathryn Williams
    Mon 8th Jun - Sat 13th Jun
    All Day


    Come to find your rhythm and your voice, unravel your ideas, craft harmonious developments, and cut away excess noise from prelude to finale so that your work can sing.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Writing and Walking With Madeleine Bunting & Chris Stewart, Guest Neil Ansell
    Mon 22nd Jun - Sat 27th Jun
    All Day
    Limited Places Available

    Taking advantage of Moniack Mhor’s beautiful setting, this course will take you out into the hills and glens around the centre, using the landscape and local history to inspire some great new writing.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Tutored Fiction Retreat With Kamila Shamsie & Gillian Slovo, Guest Jenny Brown
    Mon 13th Jul - Sat 18th Jul
    All Day
    Fully Booked

    Meet with fellow writers, and discuss your ideas with Gillian and Kamila, who can help break any log jams that you might have encountered.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Poetry With Jacob Polley and Jean Sprackland Guest Ifor Ap Glyn
    Mon 20th Jul - Sat 25th Jul
    All Day


    To get you writing and reading in fresh ways, this course will focus on generating new work through different ‘habits of art’.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Playwriting With Matt Hartley and Amy Rosenthal, Guest Mark Rosenblatt
    Mon 10th Aug - Sat 15th Aug
    12:00am


    In a course aimed at new and developing writers, we’ll look at these questions and more, exploring dramatic structure and how to work it to your advantage, balancing craft with inspiration, and taking your play from first to final draft.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • August retreat
    Mon 17th Aug - Sat 22nd Aug
    12:00am


    Where better to spend the last few days of summer than at Moniack Mhor, where you can spend your time productively on your work

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Crime With Yrsa Sigurdardóttir and Laura Wilson, Guest Christopher Brookmyre
    Mon 24th Aug - Sat 29th Aug
    All Day
    Only Twin Rooms Available

    Creating Suspense How do you a hook a reader’s attention and create suspense? If you already have a criminal idea that you want to put on the page, this course is for you … but it will also help those searching for inspiration. Through discussion, workshops and practical exercises, the opportunities offered by the genre […]

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Starting out in Fiction Karin Altenberg & Andrew Miller, Guest Andrew O’Hagan
    Mon 7th Sep - Sat 12th Sep
    All Day


    If you think you have the writing bug but you’re unsure how to get started, Karin and Andrew will guide you through that difficult space between wanting and doing, the ambition and the act.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Poetry With Niall Campbell and Pascale Petit Guest Sinéad Morrissey
    Mon 14th Sep - Sat 19th Sep
    All Day
    Only Twin Rooms Available

    Niall and Pascale will share their writing experience and help you find strategies to write your truth and make it compelling to the reader.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Poetry Ambassadors – Inspiring Others Short course With John Glenday & Jen Hadfield
    Thu 24th Sep - Sun 27th Sep
    All Day


    This short course is designed to give teachers, librarians and other professionals working in the sector the confidence and skills to share and inspire the creation of poetry with audiences of all ages.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Short Story With Zoe Gilbert and Adam Marek Guest A L Kennedy
    Mon 26th Oct - Sat 31st Oct
    12:00am
    Limited Places Available

    The short story is an ideal form to explore the fantastic – its brevity allows huge creative freedom, experimentation and inventive metaphor-making.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Picture Books With Sarah McIntyre and James Mayhew, guest Vivian French
    Mon 2nd Nov - Sat 7th Nov
    All Day


    Sarah McIntyre and James Mayhew will lead you through the basics of structuring a picture book, discuss sources of inspiration, techniques, and share from their experience.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Non-fiction With Laura Barton and Horatio Clare Guest Robert Davidson
    Mon 9th Nov - Sat 14th Nov
    All Day


    This course is aimed at writers of all levels, from beginners to published authors, who wish to hone and develop their non-fiction, be it memoir, biography, travel, life writing, nature or place writing.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Poetry Workshop With Nalini Paul
    Sun 15th Nov
    10:00am - 4:00pm


    Join Nalini Paul for a day of poetry and exploration through the senses. You will engage with sound, smell and tactility, creating imagery that brings the abstract and the tangible together.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Short Course: Ways With Words Writing Retreat For Social Workers
    Mon 16th Nov - Wed 18th Nov
    All Day


    During this short writing retreat, writers John Glenday and Louise Wallwein will lead you through some inspiring writing exercises and creative activities that will encourage you to tap into your creativity.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • November retreat
    Mon 23rd Nov - Sat 28th Nov
    All Day
    Limited Places Available

    A warm welcome and a warm log fire await you at Moniack Mhor. You can use this time to work on your latest manuscript, play or poems away from the distractions of the real world. 

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

  • Christmas retreat
    Mon 14th Dec - Sat 19th Dec
    12:00am


    Deck the halls and kick off your Christmas celebrations with a week of writing in Moniack Mhor.

    Takes place at: Moniack Mhor,

 

 

Comments are closed