Courses

Bursaries are available on all courses.

To view our previous courses at Moniack Mhor please visit – https://www.moniackmhor.org.uk/view-programme/

  • Starting out in Fiction With Karin Altenberg & Andrew Miller, Guest Sally Magnusson
    Mon 2nd Aug - Sat 7th Aug
    Fully Booked

    If you think you have the writing bug but you’re unsure how to get started, Karin and Andrew will guide you through that difficult space between wanting and doing, the ambition and the act.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Non-fiction With Laura Barton & Horatio Clare, Guest Robert Davidson
    Mon 9th Aug - Sat 14th Aug

    This course is aimed at writers of all levels, from beginners to published authors, who wish to hone and develop their non-fiction, be it memoir, biography, travel, life writing, nature or place writing.


    Read more and book your place.
  • August Retreat
    Mon 16th Aug - Sat 21st Aug
    Fully Booked

    Escape to Moniack Mhor for the last few days of summer to focus on your writing without the distractions of daily life. If inspiration evades you, go looking for it during a lovely long walk in the woods.


    Read more and book your place.
  • September Retreat
    Mon 13th Sep - Sat 18th Sep
    Fully Booked

    As the weather begins to turn, let Moniack Mhor be the backdrop to your latest writing project. Have a wander round the garden for a leg stretch, say hello to the Highland cows next door, and look out for the Moniack Mhor hare!


    Read more and book your place.
  • Playwriting With Matt Hartley & Amy Rosenthal, Guest Mark Rosenblatt
    Mon 20th Sep - Sat 25th Sep
    Fully Booked

    In a course aimed at new and developing writers, we’ll look at these questions and more, exploring dramatic structure and how to work it to your advantage, balancing craft with inspiration, and taking your play from first to final draft.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Guest Reader Series 2021: Online workshop - Adapting from stage to screen with Mark Rosenblatt
    Thu 23rd Sep
    Online

    How do you begin to approach transforming stage plays for cinema? How do take the very specific experience
    of watching a play and its frequently non-naturalistic conventions, and tell that same story in a more visual medium?


    Read more and book your place.
  • Memoir With Colin Grant & Chitra Ramaswamy, Guest Cathy Rentzenbrink
    Mon 27th Sep - Sat 2nd Oct
    Fully Booked

    What’s the heart of your story and how might you find the voice in which to tell it? What techniques can you use to anchor a narrative so it feels true to your lived experience?


    Read more and book your place.
  • Fiction/Non-Fiction Tutored Retreat With Michel Faber & Louisa Young, Guest Irenosen Okojie
    Mon 4th Oct - Sat 9th Oct
    Fully Booked

    Come to find your rhythm and your voice, unravel your ideas, craft harmonious developments, and cut away excess noise from prelude to finale so that your work can sing.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Poetry With Jen Hadfield and Ryan Van Winkle, Guest Alycia Pirmohamed
    Mon 11th Oct - Sat 16th Oct
    Fully Booked

    In this engaging course, you’ll create dozens of new poems and develop a sustainable writing practice. Suitable for poets of all levels of confidence, we’ll offer prompts and exercises guaranteed to get your pen moving and keyboards clicking.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Fiction With Adam Foulds & Alison MacLeod, Guest Jenni Fagan
    Mon 25th Oct - Sat 30th Oct
    Fully Booked

    This course will help you finish that first draft with workshops and tutorials on plot and character, on sharpening your descriptions, writing scenes and creating distinctive, propulsive, persuasive voices.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Writing for Young Adults with Melvin Burgess & Patrice Lawrence, Guest Tanya Landman
    Mon 1st Nov - Sat 6th Nov
    Fully Booked

    Are you passionate about writing fiction with young adult protagonists? This week will give you the motivation you need to develop your knowledge and skills.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Crime With Yrsa Sigurdardóttir & Laura Wilson, Guest Christopher Brookmyre
    Mon 8th Nov - Sat 13th Nov
    Fully Booked

    How do you a hook a reader’s attention and create suspense? If you already have a criminal idea that you want to put on the page, this course is for you.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Poetry With Peter & Ann Sansom, Guest Roseanne Watt
    Mon 15th Nov - Sat 20th Nov
    Fully Booked

    An intensive but very enjoyable course of writing and reading with ‘the best poetry teachers in the world’ (The Guardian).  Taking classic and contemporary poems as model and stimulus, we will create perhaps as much as a small pamphlet in just one week.  Insightful editorials, informal discussion and entertaining evening reading sessions will make this a truly memorable course. 


    Read more and book your place.
  • Fiction With Kate Clanchy and Elizabeth Macneal, Guest A.L. Kennedy
    Mon 29th Nov - Sat 4th Dec

    Have you often wanted to write, but aren’t sure where to begin? Perhaps you don’t yet know what shape you’d like your writing to take, whether that’s poetry, short story, fiction or non-fiction. Whatever stage you’re at, these workshops will tackle the basics of writing in any form, looking at language, imagery, plot and character.


    Read more and book your place.
  • December Retreat
    Mon 13th Dec - Sat 18th Dec
    Fully Booked

    Spend the end of 2021 at Moniack Mhor beside a toasty wood burner with a mug of tea and your manuscript. We’ll get the mince pies in.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Songwriting With Boo Hewerdine & Findlay Napier, Guest Jenny Sturgeon
    Mon 17th Jan - Sat 22nd Jan
    Fully Booked

    Findlay Napier and Boo Hewerdine write songs from observations and real life experience. During this week long course, you too, can learn the power of turning narrative into song.


    Read more and book your place.

 

 

Comments are closed.