Courses

Bursaries are available on all courses.

To view our previous courses at Moniack Mhor please visit – https://www.moniackmhor.org.uk/view-programme/

  • August Retreat
    Mon 15th Aug - Sat 20th Aug
    Fully Booked

    Think, reflect and write from Monday to Saturday and give your work-in-the-progress the attention it deserves.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Essay / Non-Fiction with Tabitha Lasley & Peter Ross, Guest Gavin Francis
    Mon 29th Aug - Sat 3rd Sep
    Fully Booked

    The essay is a broad and rich literary form that can articulate and explore ideas, experiences, emotions and the everyday. This course will cover a range of techniques and issues, drawing upon examples of fine work from across decades.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Life Writing with Richard Skinner & Vesna Goldsworthy, Guest Rupert Thomson
    Mon 5th Sep - Sat 10th Sep
    Fully Booked

    The genre of life writing is bigger and broader than ever. This course will look at the many and diverse ways you can write about your life or other peoples’.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Autumn Solstice Retreat
    Mon 19th Sep - Sat 24th Sep
    Fully Booked

    Join us for an uninterruped writing week at Moniack Mhor during the Autumn Solstice light. Take the time and space you need to get your thoughts going and your words flowing.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Tutored Fiction Retreat With Gillian Slovo & Kamila Shamsie, Guest Jenny Brown
    Mon 26th Sep - Sat 1st Oct
    Fully Booked

    This tutored retreat, most suited to people who have a work in progress, will give you time to write and meet with fellow writers, and also time to discuss your ideas with Gillian and Kamila.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Emerging Writers' Tutored Retreat with Childcare with Hannah Lavery, Horatio Clare and Cynthia Rogerson
    Mon 17th Oct - Sat 22nd Oct

    In this unique week-long course, dedicated tutors will be on hand to help you with your writing. Childcare support will be provided by the team at Abriachan Forest.  


    Read more and book your place.
  • Gothic Fiction with CJ Cooke & Natasha Pulley, Guest Andrew Michael Hurley
    Mon 24th Oct - Sat 29th Oct
    Fully Booked

    Want to write fiction that sends shivers up the spine? How about mastering the important art of suspension of disbelief? Take your writing to the next level with award-winning gothic novelists CJ and Natasha .


    Read more and book your place.
  • End of October Retreat
    Mon 31st Oct - Sat 5th Nov
    Fully Booked

    Give yourself the time and space you need to read, reflect and write – in the beautiful surrounding of Moniack Mhor, with delicious food, beautiful views and like-minded company.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Memoir with Chitra Ramaswamy & Colin Grant, Guest Cathy Rentzenbrink
    Mon 14th Nov - Sat 19th Nov
    Fully Booked

    In this practical and immersive course on the art of writing memoir, Chitra Ramaswamy and Colin Grant will guide you through the process of constructing your story, offering tips and hacks on voice, structure, and what to leave in and take out when telling the story of your life.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Songwriting with Kenny Anderson & Emily Barker, Guest Emma Pollock
    Mon 21st Nov - Sat 26th Nov
    Fully Booked

    Join Kenny Anderson, known better under his stage name King Creosote, and Emily Barker for an inspired week in the hills full of song, discussion, writing, imagination and a visit from special guest Emma Pollock.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Eco-poetics with Jen Hadfield and James Goodman, Guest visit from Guillemot Press
    Mon 28th Nov - Sat 3rd Dec
    Fully Booked

    We’ll explore ideas of home, where human meets wild, and the wild in us, poetic strategies for processing loss and fear, and universal and overwhelming experience.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Early December Retreat
    Mon 5th Dec - Sat 10th Dec
    Fully Booked

    Don your jumpers and join us here on the hill for some guilt-free time to read, reflect and write before the Christmas rush.


    Read more and book your place.
  • Christmas Retreat
    Mon 12th Dec - Sat 17th Dec
    Fully Booked

    As Christmas approaches, join us for a festive retreat to cosy up to wood-burning stoves and twinkling tree lights as you relax and allow your writing to take centre stage.


    Read more and book your place.

Please sign up to our mailing list to receive the latest updates.

Comments are closed.