Retreat

Retreats start on Monday evening with a welcome talk from staff at 6.30pm and an evening meal. After dinner, your group may decide to spend time together introducing yourselves and your writing interests. For the rest of the week you are free to plan your own day around the set mealtimes and your one evening cooking team slot at 4pm. Sometimes writers on retreat decide to share work with each other on the final night – this is entirely optional. 

Courses

    2411 Mid-March Retreat
    Mon 11th Mar - Sat 16th Mar

    See out the last of the winter light and take the time to nurture and expand your writing in this newly programmed March retreat. This retreat also includes an evening reading event, by the fireside in our off-grid Strawbale Studio, with visiting poets from Morocco and Yemen.


    Read more and book your place.

    2412 Spring Retreat - Week 1 of 3
    Mon 18th Mar - Sat 23rd Mar
    Fully Booked

    Whilst the natural world wakes up and stretches, join us for an untutored retreat to place your writing at the forefront. Join us for this week only or stay longer for more dedicated writing time during our spring retreat series.


    Read more and book your place.

    2413 Spring Retreat - Week 2 of 3
    Mon 25th Mar - Sat 30th Mar
    Fully Booked

    As the days draw out, come to Moniack Mhor for a week of undisturbed writing time. Join us for this week only or stay longer for more dedicated writing time during our spring retreat series.


    Read more and book your place.

    2414 Spring Retreat - Week 3 of 3
    Mon 1st Apr - Sat 6th Apr
    Fully Booked

    We are dedicating this time of year to the calm of retreats. Join us for the last in our three-week series of spring retreats to give your writing that extra push. 


    Read more and book your place.

    2416 Mid-April Retreat
    Mon 15th Apr - Sat 20th Apr

    Whether you want to energise old work, make space for new work, or simply edit in quiet, you can immerse yourself and your writing in the energy of spring as the landscape around you begins to blossom.


    Read more and book your place.

    2421 May Retreat
    Mon 20th May - Sat 25th May

    Clear air and the scent of pine drifting from the forest await you on our May writing retreat. This time is yours to focus on your writing away from the bustle of everyday life.


    Read more and book your place.

    2423 Early June Retreat
    Mon 3rd Jun - Sat 8th Jun

    Summer starts to make itself known in the Scottish Highlands in June, as the days stretch towards the solstice. Make the most of extra daylight and stretch your metaphorical writer legs during our June retreat.


    Read more and book your place.

    2429 July Retreat
    Mon 15th Jul - Sat 20th Jul

    July is when Moniack’s garden is full and heavy with raspberries! Take this time to nourish the fruit of your own writing – with some home-made scones topped with Kit’s raspberry jam to keep you going.


    Read more and book your place.

    2435 Late August Retreat
    Mon 26th Aug - Sat 31st Aug
    Fully Booked

    The fields around Moniack Mhor are rich and golden with the fullness of summer now, ready for harvest. Join us this August to gather your own words and reap the writing magic.


    Read more and book your place.


Comments are closed.